It’s sort of like a dream, isn’t it? No, better.

Good evening, readers.  I honestly don’t know where to start this time.  It seems bizarre and foreign enough to run a glass of water from the faucet, to sleep indoors, to shower daily and to have unlimited access to a fully stocked refrigerator.  On top of culture shock, reentry shock, jet lag and everything else that seems strange and overwhelming, it is of no surprise that my first blog post upon returning to civilization feels a bit unnatural.  It’s weird that I have a blog, even.  Weird to have a closet of clean clothes and a car to drive and not be constantly worried about giardia (also pretty convenient, I might add).

A few days before I left Alaska nearly two months ago, I received a mix CD in the mail from a good friend.  The first song was gloriously dreamy, instrumental goodness, repeating only one line the entire song:  It’s sort of like a dream, isn’t it?  No, better.  That line would play in my head during the expedition like a broken record, a perfectly worded soundtrack to the 40 incredible days we spent climbing in the Himalayas.  It was exactly that – like a dream, only better, because it was real.

As for the expedition, I’m still processing it.  I will write about it (I have to write about it) but I’m not sure I can do it quite yet – not if I’m going to come close to doing it justice.  I’ll just say that for all its frustrations and challenges, good times and harder times, I had the time of my life.  Consider this a preview.

Nanda Devi Sunrise

4 thoughts on “It’s sort of like a dream, isn’t it? No, better.

  1. Glad you are back safe and sound and congrats on your RSDI acceptance. I’ve had email back and forth with your Mom so am reasonably caught up.

    Photos are awesome. Get cracking and post some more. Your little life issues not withstanding!

    Take care of your young self.

    Thanks

    Kelly
    Colorado

  2. Pingback: Foto del giorno… « Fagioliborlotti's Blog

Leave a Reply

