An Easter Breakfast

It had been a busy few weeks. As soon as school was out for spring break I headed straight across the country for a Wilderness First Responder course through Wilderness Medical Associates, which in addition to being extremely awesome, was also really hard. Ten hours of class a day, 1-3 hours of homework a night… it was intense, but I finally learned what I call “real skills.”  More about that later.  As soon as I got back to Rhode Island, I found myself bombarded by three consecutive Art History midterms I hadn’t had time to study for, resulting in an exhausting week of recovering from jet lag and cramming for tests simultaneously.  Combine that with the pathetic four hours of sleep I got on Thursday night, and I was ready for a real spring break by Friday.  Luckily, my three-day weekend schedule is still working in my favor, and I booked it for Bar Harbor as fast as humanly possible.

The weekend was everything I could have dreamed it to be, for early April in northern Maine.  We drove around the fjords of Mt. Desert Island and watched the sunset/moonrise, we hung out with Zach’s friends, we spent a day meandering around the  cliffsides and sand beaches… we even went for a polar plunge in a brief moment of warm sunlight, then finished the day with a seaside hike and movie at a theatre that serves gluten-free pizza.  It was fantastic.  This morning we woke up and it was Easter, which I insisted was occasion for a magnificent breakfast.  So it was that we feasted on gluten-free blueberry muffins and coffee, and figured out how to make eggs benedict – complete with gluten-free english muffins, prosciutto, smoked gouda, and hollandaise sauce.  It began to snow.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

2 thoughts on “An Easter Breakfast

  1. Hi, Love your food photos! I will be hanging around Bar Harbor most of the summer and up north in the woods after that. Get in touch if you want to hang out, fish or go canoeing. Nikki-from your WFR course.

  2. Hi Nikki! When are you going up there? It would be so fun to go fishing or canoeing! I’m there about every other weekend, but am going to be in Alaska from late May to September. Let me know :) glad you found my blog!

Leave a Reply

