out of the city, into the trees.

Finally, it has occurred to me that I still have a blog! Living out in the wilderness with very limited Internet, I haven’t been very active, but finally have a few photos uploaded to share. Before I get into my current life in Kenai Fjords, here are some pictures from a canoe trip with my friend Nic on Nancy Lake, the week that I returned to Alaska. With the mountains still covered in snow, my transition from city life was devoid, this time, of the alpine adventures of summers past. Instead, Nic and I ventured into the lakes, portaging between a total of 16 lakes to complete a loop that, including one overnight, eventually brought us back to our car.  The water was glassy calm, and we hardly saw anyone.  The lakes were silent save for the occasional bird call – loons darted about under our boat, surfacing close, then surfacing yet closer.  It was magical.  We set up camp by the glittering water, building bonfires, pan-frying fresh salmon.  It was a tranquil welcome back to the wilderness, back to the north.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

3 thoughts on “out of the city, into the trees.

  1. It looks magical indeed. I am going to have to go on a hike in the desert hills. It will be a very different experience, but it will be getting out. And getting out is getting out. So glad you posted.

Leave a Reply

