Beginnings of Fall, and the New York Photo Awards!

Wow, it’s NOVEMBER!! I can’t believe it!  I feel like it’s already time to start Christmas shopping and planning for finals.  It also feels like time to give a recap of this fall so far – the first part of my junior year at RISD.  Here we go.

After an idyllic, but wet, summer at the Glacier Lodge, I was ready to come back to RISD with full force.  With my very own studio apartment for the first time ever, Zach suddenly living in Vermont, and over 300 glorious negatives from the summer to work with, things were looking up.  My mom flew to Rhode Island with me and spent nearly a week helping me move in, get settled, and paint my apartment a bright, fresh shade of white.  We went out for decadent meals, made epic trips to Home Depot in our tiny rental car, and spent a day in the sun on Block Island.  It was an awesome start to the semester.

Also, of all fortuitous circumstances, I had four of my photos exhibited at RISD’s Exposé Gallery in downtown Providence right before my mom left!  I was thrilled.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Just a few weeks later, it was time to go to NYC for the New York Photo Awards, where one of my photos had made it to the final selection.  Charlotte and I took the bus to the city for the weekend, and had a blast exploring, feeling overwhelmed by the city, and checking out the beginnings of the Dumbo Arts Festival.  To my extreme surprise, I won my division at the New York Photo Awards!  Totally amazed, we spent the night gazing in awe at the spectacular skyline along the Brooklyn waterfront, and meeting one of Charlotte’s friends for drinks in Williamsburg.  The next day, we went to the MoMA.  So much fun.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

A big highlight was on the way back – we got to sit in the front row of the upper floor of a double-decker bus, so all that lay between us and the road ahead was a sheet of glass. It felt like we were flying. So fun! (and pardon my socks).

Untitled

Untitled

And the absurdity of Waterfire upon our return to Providence:

Untitled

Since then, my life has consisted of a) atrocious amounts of schoolwork and b) relaxing weekends in Vermont and New Hampshire.  Also, Sally Mann came to speak at RISD, an event that made my life feel more or less complete, and my parents came to visit last weekend for approximately 24 hours.  Needless to say, more posts will follow.  Coming up next:  adventures in Vermont!

Leave a Reply

