Buenos Aires Post-Finals Therapy

Hi readers!! I’m back in the land of upload-friendly internet connections… which is… can you guess? I AM IN NORWAY, at the airport in Oslo, awaiting my flight to the frozen arctic. I can’t believe it!

Anyway, do I ever have a lot of updating to do! Since I last updated with anything remotely relevant about my current life, I have a) finished the first semester of my Junior year at RISD 2) enjoyed living alone for the first time in my life! 3) gone on a family trip to Patagonia for 2.5 weeks and 4) flown, essentially, from the south pole to the north pole.  Obviously, I can’t really cover all of this in one post, so here is the beginning of it, at least.

Here, you see me at my final crit, pale and exhausted, but delighted to have gotten to access the large-format printers for the first time.  The crit went really well.

Untitled

I also realized I never posted pictures of my apartment!  As I believe I have mentioned before, my mom came at the beginning of the semester and basically painted it bright white for me, and helped me move in.  I love it in there – it’s tiny, but relaxing, bright and luminous.  Normally there is not a bicycle or heaps of luggage in there, but I was on my way out the door for 2 months, so it is what it is.  Now you can finally see it!

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Then, more or less immediately after the final critique picture was taken, I was off to the airport! My friend Sara gave me her precious elephant figurine to carry with me wherever I go, as a way of taking her with me on my travels. Here’s the elephant getting psyched about getting on the plane at the Boston airport (which… you can’t really see).

Untitled

After what felt like several years of traveling, I had met up with my parents and arrived at our awesome hotel in the Palermo Soho district of Buenos Aires. The room I shared with my brother was bright orange and smelled strongly of mangos, as if to match the color scheme.  I embraced it wholly.

Untitled

It wasn’t quite hot enough to go swimming, but I nevertheless enjoyed the visual presence of the swimming pool.

Untitled

We drank wonderful things like blended ice with lime and ginger.

Untitled

And then we went shopping! While the shopping in Palermo Soho is absolutely world-class, it didn’t actually have a whole lot to offer two Alaskan women to whom high heels, mini-dresses, and short-shorts are uselessly impractical. I was more amazed at the resourceful use of cheap materials that designers had used to transform the interior spaces of the shops. Like this one: wall-to-wall pastry papers creating a luxurious, feminine, luminous atmosphere? Who knew! Doilies as wallpaper? Glue some tree branches to the ceiling?

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

We went out to dinner and, in the true spirit of Argentina, had steak and red wine every night.  For a few days anyway.

Untitled

Untitled

Aww, my parents :)

Untitled

 

 

A sidewalk being taken over by trees

Untitled

 

Sara’s presence as an elephant enjoying a cold glass of lemonade on a hot day in the city.

Untitled

A beautiful, bright fruit stand!

Untitled

Huge, healthy trees right alongside the city streets.  I loved it.  Once Devin got there we decided not to torture him with shopping any longer, and walked to the botanical gardens, which my mom refers to as “the cat park” because of all the stray cats that live there.  But they are unlike the vicious, feral cats you may imagine – they are actually all housepets that owners abandoned in the park at some point, and old ladies come by and feed them every day.  So really, you can just walk around and pet cats in a beautiful flowering park full of interesting and carnivorous plants (only a few of those though).

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Sara’s elephant makes a friend!

Untitled

Untitled

This thing was right out of the world of my talented classmate Ben Langford.

Untitled

Naturally, a botanical garden in a warm climate was one of the only places I was likely to encounter my name – and we did!  The sign said two things: “Acacia Blanca”, which couldn’t have been more accurate, and also “pseudo-Acacia”, which, I don’t really know what to think about.

"pseudo-acacia", uhm, what?

Before we knew it, it was the evening of December 20th, which for all we knew COULD have been our last night on earth as we know it!  So we celebrated and went out for steak and wine at Don Julio, our absolute favorite restaurant from the previous time we had been in Buenos Aires.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I like this picture of Devin and my dad waiting for a taxi.Untitled

 

To summarize, our days in Buenos Aires were warm, restful, and restorative, which after finals week at RISD, I was desperately in need of.  We ate, slept, and did sort of luxurious leisure activities like window-shop, drink beer, and pet cats in parks.  I still wasn’t caught up on sleep (I remember my classmate Bree saying that she slept about 16 hours a day for a week after her finals) but everything was, in any case, a lot better.  And just in time – the adventure was about to begin.  Epic mountains were on the horizon, and we were going south!

3 thoughts on “Buenos Aires Post-Finals Therapy

  1. You have been busy! Great pictures all the way through and glad you had such a wonderful time! I can’t wait to see the others posts on more of your adventures.

Leave a Reply

