Narvik Portraits: Jumping Right In

As I mentioned before, it’s better to jump right into it than to crawl into it! After one pretty pathetic night’s sleep in Narvik, I was up early and out the door for my first photoshoot with Sylvi, who had responded to the article published in Fremover. Off we went down to Ornesvika, a coastal trail and beach area. The weather was calm, grey, with the occasional snowflake drifting down from the sky. We walked and walked, chatting away, as her little dog frolicked delightedly in the snow. It was beautiful and moody and northern outside.

Untitled

Untitled

Her poor dog’s fur collected chunks of snow like nothing I’ve ever seen before, but didn’t seem to discourage it in any way.

Untitled

After having scoped out the area on our walk out there, I took some portraits! All the pictures, I took both digitally (to meter the light) and with the Hasselblad. Really, I’m most excited to see how the medium format ones turned out, but that’ll be quite a while from now. In any case, here are my favorite digital versions!

Untitled

I was so drawn to this dock that went straight out into the water, calm waves surging around its snowy surface.

Untitled

It was a great day and first photoshoot to get done. Thanks so much to Sylvi for volunteering to help with my project!

Untitled

The next day, I met up with Liv-Bente, who had also been so kind as to respond to my article. She lived at Ankenes, so she picked me up in Narvik and off we went! Her 23-year-old son had an American friend visiting from Florida, who had chosen to come to Narvik during the darkness of winter when she could have easily chosen to come during the summer instead. “Exotic, but not tropical,” she cheerily explained. I couldn’t agree more. After waiting for the light to reach its absolute peak, Liv-Bente and I headed down to the harbor for a photoshoot! She’s a recreational photographer herself, so we both made the best of the available light (which was much clearer and more colorful than the previous day!) and I made some portraits.

Untitled

Untitled

Liv-Bente worked on boats when she was younger, so it seemed extra fitting when boats kept driving by in the background.

Untitled

The light was so lovely, precisely what I remember having loved so much when I lived here before.

Untitled

As it grew darker, the glimmering lights from the hillside neighborhoods grew more and more magical.

Untitled

Ankenes – my home for the first 5 months I lived in Norway!

Untitled

Anyway, now we’re off to the cabin for the weekend – SUPER excited to see the photos I should be able to get there. Until later!

Leave a Reply

