Narvik Portraits: Women of the Mountains and the Sea

Back in business! After a few days of very little inspiration (but a much-needed break, perhaps!) I am finally full of inspiration and ready to get going again. The film festival here in Tromsø has been great – I’ve gotten to see a lot of incredibly beautiful, inspiring films made by young people from all over the northern countries of the world, in addition to finally seeing the documentary my friend Tor Edvin made for his final exam at film school. Even though I can’t believe I haven’t seen it until now, I was ultimately happy that the first time I saw it was in a movie theatre and not on a laptop screen. I’ve gotten to meet up with old teachers and classmates, and even run into people at random that, amazingly, I know. It’s incredible how much of a community I still sort of have here, even though it is a lot more scattered and different than it was before.

Anyway, here are some portraits I took of the beautiful women of my host family, while at the cabin in the mountains. My host family makes great photographic subjects because they’re used to me carrying a camera around, and don’t even blink if I happen to take 50 pictures of them discussing what to buy at the grocery store. These particular pictures are a little more crafted, obviously, but still – I think they’re great portrait subjects.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

And finally, I have edited the most recent portraits I took in Narvik, of Birgitte – an incredibly joyful, energetic young woman who absolutely radiated positive energy and laughter. Awful weather set in quite soon after we began shooting, so our meeting was rather short, but still a real pleasure to work with someone so enthusiastic and radiant. What I find to be a fun contrast is that Birgitte is the first person I have photographed here who doesn’t actually like the dark months all that much. She made it clear that, during this time, she absolutely prefers to remain indoors, spending time with friends and family.

I love the moody light and the color palette.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Leave a Reply

