First Light

One morning I wake up and take a shower and suddenly there is golden light pouring over my skin and I know, this is the first day.  I run into Tor Edvin’s room.  Hey, wake up, there’s sunlight in the bathroom.  Oh my god, he exclaims sleepily, and we stand barefoot on the heated tile floor and just stare at it for the whole glorious 10 minutes before it slips back below the mountain horizon.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

More than anything in Tromsø, I’ve gotten the chance to just sort of hang out, which is something I haven’t done voluntarily in, like, a couple years.  The feeling of just kind of sitting around, listening to music, eating, going on walks, and talking and laughing until 6 AM  – and not stressing about it – is beyond priceless.  Sure, I’ve taken some pictures, written some stuff, gone on a few runs, met friends, seen movies.  But not a lot, which is somehow a huge relief.  I’ve been eating a lot of bread, drinking a lot of coffee, sleeping too little, and not worrying about anything at all.

 

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Yesterday was the first day I’ve seen during this trip where the sky was at least partially clear, and the whole thing lit up all brilliant pink and gold.  We walked into town in the early afternoon and the sky was on fire.  Tor Edvin had to film some stuff for work so I tagged along for a little while, and then met Liza and Eirik for coffee and went to see the Norwegian film Før Snøen Faller. Tor Edvin and I had planned to make dinner at home, and by the time we actually sat down to eat it was past midnight!  My døgnrytme (“day rhythm”), sense of when I should be awake or sleeping, is totally out of whack, but miraculously it doesn’t matter right now.

Untitled

The view from Tor Edvin’s driveway.

Untitled

Untitled

Tor Edvin on the phone with his mom.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

A huge group of ducks we that were just sitting there, perfectly still.

Untitled

Tor Edvin’s workplace, the day after a party.

Untitled

Seaside in downtown Tromsø.

Untitled

The TIFF (Tromsø International Film Festival) logo projected onto the ground.

Untitled

Untitled

We stopped into a gallery to see an exhibition called Love Me by Zed Nelson, which documents the ways in which groups of people from all over the world alter their bodies to be more “beautiful”.  I would now like to request that no one I know EVER get a tummy tuck.  So disturbing, but brilliantly exhibited.

Untitled

Untitled

Out for coffee with Liza, who I hadn’t seen in about 4 years!

Untitled

Leave a Reply

