A Second to Breathe

Well, that was intense.

Last week, I finally, finally finished the first edition of the book I’ve been spending all semester on, working late into the night for days on end to finally click “order book” on Blurb at 02:17 one wonderful, exhausting night. I created an ambient video/sound installation project. I got the internship I wanted. I bought round-trip airfare for my next adventure. I got hired to photograph for a magazine. The week ended by dancing the night away at RISD’s annual Take A Break concert. The next day, I decided to buckle down and run my first-ever half marathon. It hurt, but it was just pain, and somehow pain seemed utterly inconsequential – because the book is done. I can breathe again, for the moment.  It won’t last, but it’s wonderful.

Here are some Instagram shots from the past weeks! Enjoy.

Untitled

 

Delicious Cambodian food with Charlotte. 

Untitled

 

Looking at all my potential book photos on the wall in a glorious, overwhelming, color-based gradient.  

Untitled

 

Preparing for a super intense portfolio review. 

Untitled

 

Providence at night. 

Untitled

 

Beginning a seriously massive ink transfer piece. 

Untitled

 

An amazing brochure I found in the computer lab. 

Untitled

 

Feelings. 

Untitled

 

Art school napkins.

Untitled

Untitled

 

Second dummy of the book.  Check out that packing-tape binding.  

Untitled

 

Elliott Romano’s Senior Show, about wanting to believe that UFOs exist.

Untitled

 

I had begun thinking about stars a lot, and then there it was. 

Untitled

 

Adorable Charlotte keeping me company in the computer lab. 

Untitled

 

Colorful RISD cityscape. 

Untitled

 

Nic came to visit!  He took me out for a super fancy dinner as a birthday present from his family. 

Untitled

 

Flashback to fancy meals in Anchorage. 

Untitled

 

We went to Block Island and were on the beach before 9 AM.

Untitled

Untitled

 

Epic American breakfasts.

Untitled

 

My obsession with Northeastern springtime continued.

Untitled

 

Nic hung out while I worked on that giant…thing.

Untitled

 

and cooked me homemade eggplant parmesan! 

Untitled

 

My apartment is clearly not ideally sized for two people, especially when a giant extra mattress is involved. 

Untitled

 

I got an inspiring fortune cookie!

Untitled

 

Abstracting it. 

Untitled

 

RISD bathroom. 

Untitled

 

I ran to the Graphic Design department one desperate night, seeking book help, and found… this. 

Untitled

 

Daffodils and tree trunks.

Untitled

 

Do more always. 

Untitled

 

Seriously, how is this even real. 

Untitled

 

I went to Take a Break with Charlotte!

Untitled

 

Untitled

 

A tree at sunset during my 2-hour run. 

Leave a Reply

