Newness

So.

Within the past two weeks, a very sudden turn of events has occurred.  Some of you may know that I thought I had planned my entire summer based upon the fact that I didn’t get any of the amazing internships I had applied for, which were mostly at photography workshops across the US, where I could work as a teaching assistant or something of the sort.  I never heard anything back from any of them, so I made a backup plan – and got excited about it.  I would return home, do a work-from-home internship that I was very excited about, devote all my time and attention to photographing my senior thesis, and work some job on the side to make money.  In the end, I became incredibly enthusiastic about this: I would get to be with my family, see my friends, and make tons of relevant artwork, all summer long!

And then, a week before school ended, I got the call.  I was being offered an internship at Maine Media Workshops, one of the places I didn’t think I had a chance at – but I had really connected with them at RISD’s Portfolio Review, and apparently it paid off.  So, after a very brief period of debate about this, I changed all my plans.  School officially ended last Friday, and by Saturday morning, I was moving to Maine via bus.  Now, I’m here – a week into being the Program Intern, working 9-5 on top of a work-from-home internship for FotoVisura and trying to get my Fulbright application sorted out before the rapidly approaching deadlines.  While healing from getting my wisdom teeth getting taken out, trying to make friends, enjoy beautiful coastal Maine… nevermind, let’s not talk about all the things that are going on.  Let’s just say it’s exciting.  Really, it’s exactly the sort of ambitious summer I had dreamed of – then gone through a whole cycle of disappointment and enthusiastic recovery before realizing it WAS going to happen, after all.  Everything worked out, just in a surprising order.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I’m now writing from the extremely idyllic town of Rockport, Maine.  I’m living in an ancient, charming house with about 12 other interns, right across the street from my work and the dining hall, which prepares all of our meals.  The workshops are outside of the town, surrounded by lush greenery, blooming flowers, and dirt roads leading into the distance.  Yet the air is fresh, clean; the ocean, its harbors full of sailboats, is only a few minutes away on foot.  It’s beautiful here, varies between cold and rainy one day, and unbearably hot the next.  Most of all, it’s social – unquestionably the most social environment I’ve lived in since my first year of college.  In fact, it feels like freshman year at college, or summer camp for adults, or something.  Aside from working hard during the week, we’re swimming in lakes, basking in the sun, drinking beer, and talking about photography/filmmaking non-stop.  It’s absolutely incredible.  I walked into town today to sit at a cafe and get work done, and before I knew it the cafe was swarmed with people I knew and then suddenly I was in a car and we were at a beach and then a lake and we were swimming and running through forests taking pictures and life was more summery than anything I’ve experienced in years.  Spontaneity permeates everything.

Untitled

 

Also, food and housing is free for interns – which includes lobster and steak dinners every Friday. 

Untitled

 

My lovely roommate Katie playing with sparklers after the weekly Friday Night Show of that week’s student work. 

 

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

 

  This last picture sums it all up nicely.  Stay tuned!

One thought on “Newness

  1. I truly love your blog.. Pleasant colors &
    theme. Did you build this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m planning to create my very own site and would like to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

