The Search for Snow: Remnants of Winter in Alaska

A newsflash to anyone who may think my blog is actually up to date with my whereabouts – such is unfortunately not the case at the moment! I write to you now from Providence, Rhode Island, where I have been since mid-February. It’s my final semester at RISD now, and the opening of my thesis exhibition is now in three short weeks! Amidst all the chaos, I say it’s about time to get up to date. Here’s part one: a visual recap (mostly Instagram) of the last bits of winter, before spring semester began.

Untitled

 

While Tor Edvin was still in Alaska, we went on many ski adventures and photoshoots, especially down at the sea ice. The winter was glorious, snowy and full of beautiful twilight color. The ocean ice changed dramatically by the day, and every trip down there was like discovering a new world.

Untitled

Untitled

 

Camera mode. 

Untitled

Untitled

 

Skiing around the abandoned mine at Hatcher Pass.

Untitled

Untitled

 

Precious sunlight on the trails at Hillside!

Untitled

 

My dad, enthused about a wildlife sighting.

Untitled

Untitled

 

Tor Edvin playing on the sea ice. This is generally a bit of a no-no (read: do not do this), but we had a blast, and he narrowly escaped before the iceberg dissolved into the rising tide. 

Untitled

 

It was New Years!

Untitled

 

After Tor Edvin left, the weather took a turn for the worse – and stayed that way. I was in Alaska for a total of two months, photographing for my senior thesis, and had been banking on pristine northern winter for my photographs. Instead, I soon found myself met with brown, dead grass, mud, and dismal grey rain. It rained for weeks; then it got sunny. None of this was conducive to the kinds of photographs I had wanted to make, but we found ways around it.

Untitled

 

Ice climbing, view from the top!

Untitled

 

I underwent a mild obsession with acai. 

Untitled

 

In a terrifying turn of events, I slid on some ice and rolled my car into a cliff wall, walking away unscathed. 

Untitled

 

The sky one morning as I ran some errands. 

Untitled

 

I went to Seward to search for some magic to photograph. 

Untitled

 

We ventured into the mountains in search of snow!

Untitled

 

Uprooted and melting. 

Untitled

 

I passed the first round of my Fulbright application process, and received this beautiful photo book as a congratulations present. 

Untitled

 

I attended a snowy owl’s dentist appointment. 

Untitled

Untitled

 

With that, I returned to RISD for my final semester of school. I had so much exposed film I felt like I already needed interns. With countless hours of scanning ahead of me, and a surge of extreme motivation, I departed Alaska, and flew East.

Leave a Reply

