Return to RISD: The Beginning of the End

Well folks, what can I say? This is it. The end, or the beginning of it. The end of 16.5 years of school… until a master’s degree starts to look tempting, anyway. In an attempt to view this as positively as possible, I have titled my latest Spotify playlist “THE GLORIOUS ENDING” in all-caps. Here we are, now. The glorious ending.

Here’s how my cell phone has seen it, so far.

Untitled

I returned to Providence. Here I am, 15 hours into travel, freezing in Boston.

Untitled

Sweater weather.

Untitled

I had my first-ever print feature! In the New York Photo Journal. Delightful.

Untitled

My parents got me this for Christmas. Looking forward to a day when it does not summarize my continuous state of existence. 

Untitled

Valentine’s Day dinner with my girls. Rachel casually pulled a license plate out of her purse. 

Untitled

My life for many, many days. 

Untitled

I began TA-ing for an awesome photo class taught by awesome grad students.

Untitled

I love my apartment, still, as much as I ever have. 

Untitled

This summarizes everyone’s collective state of mind around here. 

Untitled

I found, and developed, mystery film from Norway!

Untitled

There were many rejuvenating Skype sessions, referred to as Transatlantic (Telepathic) Therapy.

Untitled

“Graphic Design”

Untitled

More graphic design. 

Untitled

I don’t know who Nathaniel Grann is, but I resonate with his questions. 

Untitled

I went to Baltimore for the Society for Photographic Education conference! And found… Lizzie AND Annelise!

Untitled

Baltimore.

Untitled

Exhausted collapse after SPE with the girls… and chinchilla fur. 

Untitled

Lizzie had interned for Sally Mann and collected rocks from the river near her house. Sacred objects. 

Untitled

A deep analysis of my thesis project began. 

Untitled

We took the photo class to the museum to study Andy Warhol.

Untitled

For the first time in my life, I bought myself flowers to celebrate spring.

Untitled

I spent glorious time in my girlish apartment. 

Untitled

I began writing my thesis. 

Untitled

More from the collective frame of mind.

Untitled

And more of the increasingly meta transatlantic experience. What is happening?

Untitled

I received an extremely anticlimactic fortune cookie.

Untitled

I spent three days and nights alone with a printer in a windowless computer lab. 

Untitled

Spring Break began, and Charlotte and I rearranged her sculptural living space. 

Untitled

And then, at long last, I finished printing my thesis show. I took the prints to the framer. I mailed, and emailed, the invites. SO, if you’re around Providence, Rhode Island, April 14-19, stop by the Red Eye Gallery at the RISD Design Center and check it out! Opening night is April 17th, 6:30-8pm. So excited I can hardly stand it.

THIS IS HAPPENING.

Leave a Reply

