Exhibitions, Love, and Chaos: Senior Thesis Season at RISD

Life is such a blur these days, time is slipping by faster than I can count the days. I can’t imagine more exciting things beginning to take shape. Hard work and perseverance pay off, my friends. I’ll devote an entire post to this topic soon.

In the meantime, I’ll share more daily snapshots of the chaotic weeks surrounding my senior thesis exhibition, which just came down last weekend. It was beyond wonderful. I cannot express the magnitude of love and support I experienced during that time, or how immensely proud of my fellow classmates I am, seeing a new thesis show every week now. Our feeling of community has blossomed, and I feel unspeakably honored and humbled to be part of such a talented group of artists. I’m not sure what I’ll do without it, moving forward.

Anyway, first we must backtrack. Spring break turned out, ironically, to be the most stressful week of my entire semester so far. After three straight days of printing my thesis, I went to New York for about 24 hours, to midcoast Maine for about 36 hours, and then straight back to Providence, where I proceeded to drown in homework. It was crazy, but beautiful, and I got to reconnect with many wonderful people.

Untitled

6 AM, waiting for a bus to Boston in Times Square. 

Untitled

In Maine, I awoke to a ladybug on my pillow, and decided that spring had arrived.

Untitled

This is what 7-year-olds produce when provided with Photoshop, evidently.

Untitled

I stayed in the most luminous room. 

Untitled

Back in Providence, I stress-cooked healthy meals in an attempt to feel like a normal person.

Untitled

Having made the decision to cut off most of my hair, I enjoyed the last few days of elaborate hairstyle possibilities. 

Untitled

My postcard invitations arrived! I mailed them to nearly every corner of the globe. Satisfying. 

Untitled

I went to the talented Kyle Laidig‘s solo show, where Kleenex boxes were part of the installation. 

Untitled

I went to the Graduate Open Studios, which absolutely blew my mind. Here, a piece by Drew Ludwig, consisting of every instance of “wilderness” stated in the bible, removed.

Untitled

A sculpture grad’s amazing moving oil piece. I wish I could tell you who this is. 

Untitled

Our department’s first senior show arrived! Ben Langford and Graham Bessellieu. 

Untitled

I helped sculpture senior Otis Gray photograph his work. 

Untitled

Rachel got her frames!

Untitled

We had our first final critique in the Red Eye Gallery. Graham had a relational aesthetics piece where we were all invited to paint together to the sound of running water in a luminous, peaceful space. 

Untitled

Charlotte’s painting. 

Untitled

Ben killed it with his artist’s statement. 

Untitled

And then it was our turn. We went to Home Depot for our first batch of paint!

Untitled

Three days and limitless exhaustion later, our show was installed. 

Untitled

Selfie right before my final thesis crit. 

Untitled

Rachel between her parents, and matching the walls. 

Untitled

My professor Steve eating bagels between owls and star trails. 

Untitled

Part of my installation! The crit went awesomely. 

Untitled

My professor Thad doling out some advice. 

Untitled

Then my mom, aunt, and grandma came to visit! We went to brunch and my grandma ordered a peanut butter, banana, marshmallow, bacon and egg sandwich. Obviously, she is not afraid to take risks. Go grandma! 

Untitled

And then it was our opening. Sara and I celebrated with champagne. 

Untitled

Untitled

Then it was Easter! We went to Block Island and spent time on a beautiful sand beach. No one else was there. 

Untitled

The next week, Ellis had his senior crit. His show was beautiful. 

Untitled

…Also Remy. So proud. 

Untitled

Untitled

Another glimpse of our Easter getaway. 

Untitled

One of my students’ notebooks, last week. I must say, I agree. 

Untitled

On Friday, I went to Boston with Ke, where we both had pieces in Magenta Flash Forward’s ‘Undergraduate Photography Now’ exhibition! Here’s Ke with her photo. 

Untitled

We spent the next day at Gallery Kayafas for a porfolio review, and got some amazing feedback. 

Untitled

Afterwards, celebratory dim sum with Ke in Chinatown. I had never had it before, and it was delicious. 

More soon, dear readers. Big things are happening.

The path you build is the path you walk.

 

One thought on “Exhibitions, Love, and Chaos: Senior Thesis Season at RISD

Leave a Reply

