Into Indigo: Making the Impossible a Reality

There are certain times when one’s momentum in the flow of the universe feels more apparent. The way I see it, we are all hurtling towards our own destinies at unfathomable velocities, but it is only seldom one really feels it, realizes the speed of the current of time.

acacia_ws_ 085

Right now is one of those instances. In nine days I will be on a flight to Greenland to start work for Quark Expeditions, at which point I will probably be completely off the grid for the six weeks between then and when my Fulbright grant period starts in September. For an unbelievable life and chain of events. There are, however, several pieces of the larger puzzle that need to fall into place before I can leave Norway with confidence. The first and most important one is concerning the success of my Fulbright project. I debated about whether or not to write about this on my blog, but if there’s one thing I’ve learned in the past few years, it’s to ask for help when you need it. And right now, I really need help. 

As some of you may be aware, my Fulbright project – for which I will spend the winter living in a town on northern Baffin Island in the Canadian Arctic, creating a photo series exploring human connection to mythic landscape features in a contemporary context – is not, actually, fully funded by Fulbright. I was generously granted with a head start, enough to afford the Special Student tuition at the university I need to affiliate with, and enough to stay alive while I’m there in Toronto. The costs of living in the Arctic, however, are astronomical – round-trip airfare hovers around $6,000 alone, and food costs are extreme – like $22 for a head of cabbage (not that I plan to purchase fresh vegetables up there, but you get the idea). Since I received news about the Fulbright award, all my resources, life savings, and income are directed towards being able to complete my proposed project, living in Arctic Bay throughout the duration of the polar night. Still, with all my oars in the water, the bare minimum necessary to simply stay alive, and create my photos and exhibition, is out of my reach.

acacia_johnson_canada9

With perpetual hope and optimism, I have therefore turned to a crowdfunding campaign on Kickstarter with the hopes of raising the last support necessary to make the project happen. If you’re not familiar with Kickstarter, it is a website where anyone can pledge any amount of money towards the project, with various rewards for certain amounts (in this case, limited-edition prints at less than half their selling price). If I reach my goal by July 27th, six days from now, the pledges turn into donations and the project will succeed. If I do not, however, reach my goal, I will not receive anything, no backers will be charged, and the project will not be able to happen as proposed. It is all or nothing.

As I write this, I am about 75% of the way there, but the next 6 days are going to make or break it! Therefore, I would like to kindly ask, if you can find the time, to please consider pledging to the project and/or sharing it with family and friends. To access the page, click here. 

Screen shot 2013-10-19 at 10.03.41 PM

I’d like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank everyone who has shared, supported, and believed in this project so far. It’s kind of intimidating to be fully committed to a project that is not yet able to happen – I have signed my grant agreement, and there is no going back. Six days.

To infinity, and beyond.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

