A Chapter Closes

Things are in motion. I am in transit. A new beginning is underway.

Currently waking up in a hotel room in Iqaluit, I decided it’s time to rapidly recap the past few weeks in photographs. Here is what happened.

Untitled

I went to Newfoundland to visit Nic, one of my best friends from high school, who is in the last semester of his university career in St. John’s. It was beautiful there.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I also took his portrait for his graduation announcement. So proud.

Untitled

Untitled

This one pretty much sums it up!

Untitled

We road-tripped to Gander to spend Canadian Thanksgiving with his roommate’s family and a couple of his friends. It was wonderful to spend some time in a family home.

Untitled

Also, I learned how to play poker that night. If I was ever going to learn, it was going to be in a shed in someone’s backyard in Newfoundland.

Untitled

The view from Nic’s kitchen window.

Untitled

Nic is a radio show host, so we co-hosted a show while I was there! You can listen to it here. 

Untitled

Also, we spent an entire day slow-roasting a glorious prime rib – after which we invited a bunch of friends over for dinner and ate in the enticing, revolving glow of a disco ball. Because, why not?

Untitled

After that, I returned to the Art Centre on Toronto Island, where I had just moved into the Writer’s Wing. Here are a few shots from living there (above, the shrine-like entrance to the writer’s wing).

Untitled

The communal living room/kitchen area for all of the artists in residence.

Untitled

Untitled

String lights and mirror tassels in the backyard.

Untitled

The pathway to the beach, where I often walked in the morning, just after waking up.

Untitled

Untitled

A glimpse of my studio, as I attempted to arrange my thoughts.

Untitled

Light breakfast reading.

Untitled

I stocked up on film, and meditated upon this picture of Arctic Bay in the summer that Sheba had given me as a present.

Untitled

I exhibited some of my summer work at OCAD!

Untitled

I reflected a lot, wrote a lot, and ran a lot.

Untitled

OCAD had an open house.

Untitled

Untitled

I worked on photos from the summer. I liked these portraits.

Untitled

I went to Feature Contemporary Art Fair, where a bunch of galleries from all over Canada were displaying their best works.

Untitled

….Like this glowing camera shrine.

Untitled

And this businessman with a lamp-like paper bag as a head.

Untitled

I started doing my last shopping, and invested in a balaclava. Instant ninja status.

Untitled

Assembling ideas and fragments in my sketchbook.

Untitled

And then – as six of us at the Art Centre were leaving the same week – we had a glorious, potluck-style goodbye party. The food was exquisite, and the company even better.

Untitled

Untitled

Naturally, our dinner evolved into an all-night dance party, mostly outdoors and on top of tables, around a bonfire. It was amazing. Enough said.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

This strange and beautiful chapter of my life, however, began to draw to a close. I packed my bags and ran my errands. On the last morning – not knowing if and when I would see direct sunlight again – I walked out to the lake and took a last self-portrait at sunrise.

Untitled

Untitled

It wasn’t the last time, but it easily could have been. With that, I moved off the island, made my last phone calls, and got on a plane North.

Untitled

One thought on “A Chapter Closes

  1. Pingback: Dreaming of northern places » Londonlotta

Leave a Reply

